myCourses - To Access Student View

Summary

This article describes the Student View feature in myCourses, including known issues as well as linking to pertinent myCourses by Canvas Guides articles.

 

Related Video

 Student View

Content

To Access Student View

You can view your course from a student perspective any time — while you are developing your course, when you are ready to publish, or any time during the semester. When you switch to Student View, myCourses creates a test student account. As the Test Student, you can see the course as a student, and experiment with submitting Assignments and posting to Discussions.

The Student View option is available in 2 locations:

  1. On the course home page, on the right side select the Student View option.
  2. And also, in the Settings area of the course, in the right-hand sidebar, click  Student View .

A pop-up window will appear at the bottom-right of your screen which reads: "You are currently logged in to Student View." At the bottom of that window are two buttons:  Reset Student  and  Leave Student View . When you click Reset Student, you clear the history of any activities you have performed as that test student. When you are ready to switch back to the regular view, click  Leave Student View .

Here are links to the myCourses guides for additional details about Student View.

What is Student View?  https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-2976

How do I enable Student View? https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-2978

 

Please Note the Following:

  1. There is a separate Test Student account for each course in Canvas. 
  2. Submissions and scores for the Test Student do not affect course analytics.
  3. If you use Student View to sign-up for Scheduler (Appointment) Events, clicking Reset Student will not delete those Scheduler Events.
  4. The Student View is not useful for seeing items associated with groups or collaborations including differentiated assignments as the test student is not actually assigned to a particular group or collaboration.
  5. If you use Student View to test discussions and then want to delete the test posts, the following text appears on screen as an artifact - permanently: "This entry has been deleted." There is no way to remove this text at this time.

 

For additional information:

See the Canvas Community discussion here:   https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/4035

  

Need additional help?

Please fill out this  myCourses webform  with as much detail as possible.

Details

Article ID: 926
Created
Fri 7/19/19 5:42 PM
Modified
Wed 11/20/19 8:46 AM