Yammer: Messages & Feeds

Tags PSU

Summary

This article describes how to manage and post messages to the feeds in Yammer.

Content

Home Feed Fundamentals

Your Home feed can best be described as "Where Conversations are delivered". You will notice that "Home" is composed of three essential parts that you can choose to view.

  • Discovery Conversations - This is an algorithmic feed of the conversations most relevant to you, based on what you subscribe to and your interactions with Yammer network content.
  • Followed Conversations - These are the conversations you actively subscribe to, including conversations that your followers have participated in or liked, conversations that have been tagged with a topic you follow, and conversations that have been posted in one of your Groups.
  • All Conversations - These are all the conversations to which you have access within your company network.

While Discovery Conversations is the default, you can always switch back to All or Followed Conversations.

 

Message Basics

Yammer's core functionality is posting messages. Messages show up in your Inbox and are grouped into threaded conversations.

To post a message, type your message into the "What are you working on?" text area, select group/people, and click "Post".

There are two ways to send a message to a specific person:

  1. @mention the person (public): Anywhere in your message, you can type the "@" symbol followed by the person's name. After typing the @ symbol, you can begin typing the person's name, and a drop-down menu of matching names will appear. You can select the appropriate person from this drop-down menu with the up, down, and enter keys.
  2. Private Message the person (private): Click the + icon next to PRIVATE MESSAGES in the left column of the screen to send a private message to an individual. As with @mentioning someone, after typing "to:" you can begin typing the name of the individual, and a drop-down menu of matching names will appear. 

 

To reply to a message, click "Reply" underneath the message and a reply box will appear.

To post a message to a Group, click the name of the group in the group list on the left-hand navigation column. From there, type a message in the Share something with this group.. field.

To delete a message, click on "..." underneath the message and then select "Delete" from the drop-down menu. In order to delete messages in addition to your own, you must be the network administrator of a Premium Network.

 

Replies & Threads

Replying to messages is a core part of what makes Yammer useful. When you reply to a message, a thread is started. Threaded mode is the standard way to view conversations within Yammer.

To reply to a message, click "Reply" under the message and a reply box will appear.

If you would like to reply to a specific reply within the thread, you must click the "Reply" link under the message/user you specifically want to reply to.

 

How Do I Attach a File or Image to my Post?

To attach a file or image to your post, click the upload icon in the lower corner of the reply before you click "Post" to bring up a file selector window. The maximum size an individual file attachment can be is 100MB

Here are a few quick facts on file attachments:

  • To attach a file, click the "File" link below the publisher.
  • There is no limit to the number of files you can attach to a post.
  • The maximum size for a single file attachment is 100MB for free networks and 5GB for premium networks.
  • You can attach various types of files, such as pdf's, image files, video files, microsoft office files, etc. The way the attachment is displayed in the feed depends on the type of file.
  • Any non-image file attachment will be visible as a link under your message which people can click to download.
  • Any image attachment will be visible as a thumbnail under your message. To view the image, users can click on the thumbnail. When viewing the expanded image, users can click on the "download" link to download a copy of the image.
  • Any video attachment will be visible as a thumbnail under your message. Users can click on the thumbnail to watch the video inline. Supported video types are: .wmv, .avi, .mpeg, .3gp, .flv, .mov, .mp4, .mpg, .ogm, .mkv, .ogv, .ogg.
  • All uploaded files to your network are accessible by clicking the "Files" link in the left-hand column.
  • All uploaded images to your network are accessible by clicking the "Images" link in the left-hand column.
  • All uploaded videos to your network are accessible by clicking the "Videos" link in the left-hand column.
  • To delete a file, you must delete the message to it is attached to.
  •  

How Do I Delete A Post?

Click "More" below the message, then select "Delete" from the drop down menu.

NOTE: You can only delete your own messages. In order to delete another user's message, you must be the administrator of your network. To become an administrator, your network needs to be upgraded to our Premium plan.

 

How Do I Import an RSS Feed?

Click on the Apps link in the upper-right-hand area of your Home feed and scroll down to the My Apps section. Here, click the RSS icon, then "Directory" at the top right of the feed. From there, click Add an RSS Feed. You have a few options to enter a feed:

  • Paste the URL of the feed you'd like to subscribe to
  • Enter a Twitter search term
  • Enter a Twitter username
  • Enter a Google Blog search term

Once you select an RSS to import, click the Import RSS Feed button. RSS feeds you subscribe to will display in their own feed by clicking 'RSS' in the 'Apps' menu.

 

How Do I Send a Message to Another Person

There are two ways to send a message to a specific person:

  1. @mention a person (public): Anywhere in your message, you can type the "@" symbol followed by the person's username. After typing the "@" symbol, you can begin typing the person's name, and a drop-down menu of matching usernames will appear. You can select the appropriate person from this drop-down menu with the up, down, and enter keys. The user you "@mention" will get a notification telling them they've been mentioned in a message.
  2. Private Message a person (private): Click "Onine Now" in the bottom right corner. Start typing in a person's name in the "Search" field and select the person's name. Then type your message and click "Send."

 

How do I find the URL of a specific message or thread?

You can find the URL of a particular thread by either clicking on the timestamp below the post or clicking on the "More" link and selecting "View Conversation" from the drop down menu.

Either option will take you to a page showing the single thread, which you can copy the URL of and use to direct colleagues to that specifc Yammer thread.

Note: Individual messages and replies do not have unique URLs. A URL will always point to an entire thread.

 

What does it mean to "Like" a message?

When you "Like" a message, the message will show up in the My Feed of the users who follow you, so in addition to expressing your "Like" of a message, the "Like" functionality is also a way to share another user's message with your followers.

 

Where Do I View My Bookmarks?

To view your bookmarked conversations, you need to navigate to your Profile Page. Clicking on tab that says "MORE" and then select "Bookmarks". Click on this option to view all your bookmarked posts.

Need Additional Help?

Please fill out the Microsoft 365 Support webform with as much detail as possible, or contact the ET&S Help Desk team on your local campus.

Details

Article ID: 2779
Created
Fri 10/2/20 5:13 PM
Modified
Thu 4/22/21 12:42 PM
Applicable Institution(s):
Granite State College (GSC)
Keene State College (KSC)
Plymouth State University (PSU)
University of New Hampshire (UNH)
USNH System Office