Yammer: What is the difference between public and private groups?

Summary

This article describes the differences between Yammers' public and private groups.

Content

Messages posted in a public group will show up in the My Feed of every member of the group. Additionally, people who aren't members of a public group can view its messages by going to the group's page.

Messages posted in private groups will also show up in the My Feed for every member of the group, however, users outside of the private group will not see its messages on the group's page.

Anyone in the network can join a public group, while an admin of a private group must invite or approve membership. In Basic groups, the privacy setting cannot be changed once the group is created whereas in Premium groups, the privacy setting can be changed by an admin any time.

Files uploaded to private groups will not be viewable to members outside of the group, but their file names will show up in the network's Files directory.

Need Additional Help?

Please fill out the Microsoft 365 Support webform with as much detail as possible, or contact the ET&S Help Desk team on your local campus.

Details

Article ID: 2781
Created
Fri 10/2/20 5:13 PM
Modified
Wed 6/16/21 11:47 AM
Applicable Institution(s):
Granite State College (GSC)
Keene State College (KSC)
Plymouth State University (PSU)
University of New Hampshire (UNH)
USNH System Office